Oregon Health & Sciences University Welcomes New Orthodontic Department Chair

Our thanks to Dr. Christine Sedgely, Chair of Endodontics, for taking on the responsibilities as Interim Chair of Orthodontics for the last 2 years. Under Dr. Sedgely’s guideance, the Orthodontic Department has made a smooth transition, with Chair administrative responsibilities now in the hands of Dr. Laura Iwasaki. OHSU Orthodontics is very much endebted to Dr. Sedgely for her patience and experience in helping the department manage the transition to a new era of growth and development.

OHSU welcomes as new chair, Dr. Laura Iwasaki, who has 11 years experience as the Leo Rogers Chair of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, University of Missouri Kansas City. Laura has been been employed as full time faculty for 26 years, serving as faculty in Orthodontic Departments at the University of Manitoba, University of Nebraska Medical Center, and UMKC. As well, she has a courtesy appointment in the Department of Oral Diagnostic Sciences, University at Buffalo, School of Dental Medicine. Her additional duties to the profession are as the American Association of Orthodontists Foundation Chair of the Planning and Research Committee (PARC). Each year PARC reviews grant applications distributes approximately 750,000$ in support orthodontic research.